• Ettlin incorporated company
  • ETTLIN Real Estate
  • Ettlin Textiles
  • Ettlin SmartMaterials
  • Ettlin Lux

About us

THE COMPANY

The ETTLIN public limited company was founded in 1836 as spinning and weaving mill. The state of Baden started the ball rolling in 1836 when it joined the Deutsche Zollverein (German customs union), which opened up opportunities. The vision: a cotton spinning mill with 26,000 spindles as well as a cotton weaving mill with 750 looms driven by water power.

The first step: founding of the first public liability company in the German cotton wool industry. The founding shareholders included Grand Duchess Stefanie von Baden, Margrave Wilhelm von Baden, Margrave Maximilian von Baden and Karl Egon Prince of Fürstenberge from Donaueschingen. Only a suitable location was missing. Maybe it was due to the quick action of Ettlingen council or the persuasive nature of Mayor Schneider in front of the citizens’ committee: "To increase wealth and therefore the taxpaying ability", they unanimously voted "Yes" on 3rd June 1836. Never again should thousands of people emigrate because of famines - the foundation of the most modern production factories in the cotton wool processing industry created 1,700 jobs. Today, the non-listed public liability company acts as holding for the operative businesses and is family-owned.

  • Ettlin AG Technische Textilien

  • Ettlin AG Technische Textilien

  • ETTLIN AG

Ettlin AG Technische Textilien

THE MANUFACTURING COMPANY

This made ETTLIN the largest manufacturing company in Baden for a long time. Between 1836 and 1839, the foundation buildings were erected and the first machines started work in 1838. At the same time, an extension of the factory was considered. Standstill was not an option, progress was the word of the hour. The following years were characterised by continuous growth in sales - the idea had become successful reality. The new weaving mill was opened in 1852 and a bleaching and dying mill were opened in 1855 in the area of today's upper factory. But then both World Wars left their marks: An air raid destroyed the entire upper factory on 18th March 1945.

Giving up was not an option. Production started again as early as 1946. A new era began when principle shareholder Fritz Häcker joined the management board. Pre-war production rates were exceeded in 1953 and the machines had to be upgraded several times from 1956 onwards.

A fire in June 1994 destroyed the entire spinning and weaving mills. But with a lot of commitment, a new and modern spinning and weaving mill was built. In all those years, the factory was as solid as a rock despite deep hits and continued to produce like clockwork.

Spinnweberei Uhingen

With the acquisition of Spinnweberei Uhingen GmbH in June 2014, we can now offer almost all spinning and weaving processes from one source. The product development and manufacture takes place in our own business park in Ettlingen, in the spinning mill in Waldkirch or in the weaving mill in Uhingen. 

We are able to process very different raw materials in our spinning and weaving mills. Classical cotton or polyester fibres, blends, linen and viscose are spun to yarns as well as Meta-Aramid, PPS or mono- and multi-filaments.

OUR PRODUCTS

Our yarns and textiles are used in different areas. We collaborate with leading research institutes in different disciplines in national and international projects on key technologies and future applications. We continuously test new textile processes, modify them and analyse their potential for the application areas of our customers. Our technological know-how and our process competence are transferred to innovative products that speak for themselves with their unique features.

We are market leaders in carrier material for coated abrasives. Other ETTLIN customers are the automotive industry and its suppliers as well as companies dealing with textile sun protection - companies from very different sectors and very different challenges, which we have met for 180 years. Our newest developments in products and processes ensure our important position in the European textile industry and open up new markets in the lighting and architecture sectors.

THE BUSINESS PARKS

The ETTLIN public liability company was founded in 1836 and it was noticed already in the 90's that the locations of the factories in Ettlingen and Berlin were particularly suitable for a business park. Planned as complete complex, the combination of living and working was the main focus already then and was realised accordingly. Office, production and warehouse spaces as well as residential houses for the employees formed a building ensemble whose structure was carefully restored over the years and successively extended with modern buildings to meet the continuously increasing demand for attractive rental spaces close to the city centre. In this way it was possible to combine tradition and innovation so that the business parks in Ettlingen and Berlin have a special character today. The business park Albtal in Ettlingen and the business park Marienfelde in Berlin were established. Further buildings (office and residential spaces) were added in both locations in the Karlsruhe and Berlin areas.

Today, ETTLIN manage 355 flats and 124,000 m² of useful area with offices, factory halls and warehouses in the Karlsruhe area and 60,000 m² of useful area with offices factory halls and warehouses in the Berlin area.

Ettlin AG Technische Textilien

• Ettlin Aktiengesellschaft
  • Ettlin Immobilien
  • Ettlin Textiles
  • Ettlin SmartMaterials

Über uns

Das Unternehmen

Als Spinnerei und Weberei Ettlingen wurde die ETTLIN Aktiengesellschaft 1836 gegründet. Den Stein ins Rollen brachte das Land Baden, das 1836 dem deutschen Zollverein beitrat und so den Weg frei machte. Die Vision: eine Baumwollspinnerei mit 26.000 Spindeln sowie eine Baumwollweberei mit 750 Webstühlen, betrieben durch Wasserkraft.

Der erste Schritt: Gründung der ersten Aktiengesellschaft der deutschen Baumwollindustrie. Zu den Gründungsaktionären gehörten Großherzogin Stefanie von Baden, Markgraf Wilhelm von Baden, Markgraf Maximilian von Baden und Karl Egon Fürst zu Fürstenberge aus Donaueschingen. Was fehlte war der geeignete Standort. Vielleicht war es das schnelle Verständnis der Gemeindeverwaltung Ettlingen, vielleicht die Überzeugungskraft von Bürgermeister Schneider vor dem Bürgerausschuss: „Um den Wohlstand zu heben und damit auch die Steuerkraft zu stärken“, gab es am 3. Juni 1836 ein einstimmiges „JA“. Nie wieder sollten durch Hungersnöte Tausende von Menschen auswandern – durch den Aufbau einer der modernsten Produktionsstätten der baumwollverarbeitenden Industrie wurden bis zu 1.700 Arbeitsplätze geschaffen. Heute agiert die nicht börsennotierte Aktiengesellschaft als Holding für die operativen Gesellschaften und befindet sich in Familienbesitz.

  • Ettlin AG Technische Textilien

  • Ettlin AG Technische Textilien

  • ETTLIN AG

Ettlin AG Technische Textilien

Der Industriebetrieb

Dies machte ETTLIN für lange Zeit zum größten badischen Industriebetrieb. In den Jahren 1836 bis 1839 entstanden die Gründungsbauten, 1838 liefen die ersten Maschinen an. Zeitgleich wurde über die Erweiterung der Fabrik nachgedacht. Stillstand gab es nicht, Fortschritt wurde groß geschrieben. Die folgenden Jahre waren geprägt von stetigem Umsatzwachstum – die Idee war erfolgreiche Wirklichkeit geworden. 1852 wurde die neue Weberei errichtet, 1855 entstanden eine Bleicherei und Färberei auf dem Gelände der heutigen oberen Fabrik. Dann hinterließen beide Weltkriege ihre Spuren: Am 18. März 1945 zerstörte ein Luftangriff die gesamte obere Fabrik.

Aufgeben kam nicht in Frage. Schon 1946 wurde die Produktion wieder aufgenommen. Der Eintritt des Hauptaktionärs Fritz Häcker in die Geschäftsleitung leitete eine neue Ära ein. 1953 wurde die Vorkriegsproduktion überschritten, ab 1956 der Maschinenpark mehrmals erneuert.

Ein Brand im Juni 1994 zerstörte die gesamte Spinnerei und Weberei. Doch mit viel Herzblut wurde 1995 eine neue und moderne Spinnerei und Weberei aufgebaut. In all den Jahren stand das Werk wie der sprichwörtliche Fels in der Brandung, trotzte Tiefschlägen und lief immer wieder wie am Schnürchen.

Spinnweberei Uhingen

Mit der Übernahme der Spinnweberei Uhingen GmbH im Juni 2014 können nun nahezu alle textilen Verfahren und Lösungen aus einer Hand angeboten werden. Entwicklung und Fertigung aller Produkte finden im firmeneigenen Gewerbepark in Ettlingen, in der Spinnerei in Waldkirch und der Weberei in Uhingen statt.

In unseren Spinnereien und Webereien sind wir in der Lage unterschiedlichste Rohstoffe zu verarbeiten. Klassische Baumwoll- oder Polyesterfasern, Mischungen, Leinen und Viskose werden genauso bei uns zu Garn gesponnen wie Metaaramid, PPS oder Mono- und Multifilamente.

Unsere Produkte

Unsere Garne und Gewebe finden in vielerlei Bereichen Anwendung. Mit führenden Forschungsinstituten aus unterschiedlichsten Disziplinen arbeiten wir in nationalen und internationalen Projekten an Schlüsseltechnologien und den Zukunftsthemen. Ständig erproben wir neue textile Verfahren, modifizieren diese und beleuchten das Potential für die Anwendungsbereiche unserer Kunden. Das technologische Know-how und die Verfahrenskompetenz überführen wir in innovative Produkte, die sich durch Alleinstellungsmerkmale auszeichnen. 

Im Bereich Schleifmittelträger sind wir Marktführer. Zu den weiteren ETTLIN Kunden gehört die Automobilindustrie und –zulieferer sowie Unternehmen, die sich mit textilem Sonnenschutz befassen – Firmen aus den verschiedensten Branchen und mit den unterschiedlichsten Herausforderungen, denen wir uns seit 180 Jahren stellen. Unsere neusten Entwicklungen im Produkt- und Prozessbereich festigen unsere bedeutende Position in der europäischen Textilindustrie und eröffnen neue Märkte in den Branchen Licht und Architektur.

Die Gewerbeparks

Die 1836 gegründete ETTLIN Aktiengesellschaft erkannte bereits in den 90er Jahren, dass sich die Lage der Produktionsstätten in Ettlingen und Berlin besonders für einen Gewerbepark eignen. Als Gesamtkomplex geplant, stand schon damals die Kombination von Wohnen und Arbeiten im Vordergrund und wurde dementsprechend umgesetzt. Büro-, Produktions- und Lagerflächen sowie Wohnhäuser für Mitarbeiter bilden ein Gebäudeensemble, dessen Baubestand im Laufe der Jahre schonend restauriert und sukzessive um neue, moderne Gebäude erweitert wurde, um die stetig steigende Nachfrage nach attraktiven Mietflächen in zentrumsnaher Lage befriedigen zu können. So ist es gelungen, Tradition und Innovation optimal zusammenzuführen, wodurch die Gewerbeparks in Ettlingen und Berlin heute so besonderen Charme erhalten haben. So entstanden durch Bündelung der Aktivitäten in Ettlingen der Gewerbepark Albtal und in Berlin der Gewerbepark Marienfelde. Beide Objekte wurden im Laufe der Jahre um weitere Immobilienbestände (Gewerbeflächen und Wohnungen) im Raum Karlsruhe und in Berlin erweitert.

Heute verwaltet der Unternehmensbereich ETTLIN Immobilien 355 Wohnungen und 124.000 m² Nutzfläche mit Büros, Produktions- und Lagerhallen im Raum Karlsruhe sowie über 60.000 m² Nutzfläche mit Büros, Produktions- und Lagerhallen in Berlin im eigenen Bestand.

Ettlin AG Technische Textilien